December: Our Everyday Adventures Via the IPhone

Like many families around the world, Our December was full of class parties and concerts, gift exchanges, decorating, baking, and traveling.

So much anticipation goes into this season for me. I love the feeling of December. I’m a dreamer, and I get giddy finding all the magic the holidays can bring. I know not everyone is so fortunate to hold such fond feelings of the holidays, which is why I appreciate this time even more. This year I made the decision to purchase a christmas tree and a few decorations for the apartment, in order for it to feel more like home for the girls. For the last few years we have been so caught up in getting “home” we have lost our connection with certain traditions and making memories leading up to Christmas itself. If you ask my oldest I failed miserably at trying to create a Christmassy feeling. The Christmas tree wasn’t real and it wasn’t green. She’s a tough nut to crack when it comes to keeping an open mind about living abroad. Her roots run deep and she refuses to loosen them. This of course opens the guilty flood gates and it often makes me question whether or not we are doing the right thing. At the same time her stubbornness and her affection towards her family makes me proud.

In addition to all the excitement I feel this time of year, my anxiety runs ramped when it comes to getting it all done and traveling to so many places in such a short amount of time. Not only am I a dreamer, I am also a people pleaser. This trait works against me as an expat traveling to see friends and family in what seems like the most important season of the year, and in some cases the most important season of life. The pressure I put on myself can be ridiculous. I, along with the rest of my troop ended up sick (mine clearly from the stress of preparing for the holidays and traveling). We endured one of the worst long haul flights to this day. Yet, we landed at “home” and hit the ground running and had a very full season. We skied, we rode horses, we met the newest member of our family, we over spent at Target, and we spent as much time as possible with all those we love. Thanks to all our friends and family who have to put up with our mad dashes through the country.

 

Leave a Reply

