Adios Grandpa

Having to say goodbye is always hard for me.  I love to be around my friends and family.  I am fully aware of how truly lucky I am to have already had two of my closest family members visit us here.  Having my dad travel back with us after Christmas break was really so great for the girls.  Their pride was obvious when they were telling Grandpa all they knew about the transportation systems, showing him their school and apartment.  I think it helped them transition more smoothly from spending nearly every waking hour with grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles for a month.  It lessened the blow of being so far away once again…for me too.

We kept our activities minimal, spending most of our time just being together at the apartment.  My dad was such a help with the girls.  He walked with me everyday to drop them off at school and pick them up.  That adds up to three trips back and forth a day!  He accompanied me on my coffee breaks, grocery shopping, and Ikea shopping.  That alone tells you what an incredible man he really is!  Ikea can be a real you know what, just imagine doing Ikea in a city with millions more people.  An Ikea trip here is worth it’s own post all together!  We spent some time on the beach, at the peak, walking around central, taking Ada to her riding lessons and checking out Stanley Market.  We even did a Big Bus tour of part of the city.

Like I said, I am completely aware of how lucky I am to have had my dad experience our new home with us.  But I realized just how special his visit was after talking to a few friends whose family can be more interested in sight seeing and exotic food and drink than their own grandchildren.  Grandpa spent every minute he was here doting over me and my girls.  We sure will miss him.

Me and Dad

P.S. If anyone knows how I can choose the placement of my photo gallery, I’m all ears.  Seems silly to have it before the title!  It seems I spend a lot of time getting no where with technology.

One thought on “Adios Grandpa

  1. I really love seeing Uncle Ernie, he always seems happy. I don’t know how he does it. the picture of you and he is just awesome. Keep the blog going, i really enjoy it. Granted we only meet up when a tragedy happens (in the family) i do have say I do miss seeing you, ashley, and Craig. okay enought of that. soak up as much as that culture as you can it’s enlightening. Love ya, Las

Leave a Reply

